“F-2”

To me, “Der Wolf” was a prison of the normal, meaning it had a story with a  beginning, middle and end never leaving the audience guessing what was going on. At the time I wanted to break away from what I’ve already seen. I wanted to create for my second practicum that which hadn’t existed yet in the film world (I now realize everything has been done within the 1st years of the silent era, but here’s to well crafted regurgitation augmented by the 4th dimension/3D objects hurtling through time & space).  Anyway, I guess I wanted to make a weird film. I basically wanted to bring my drawings of strange beings to life.
Image
The basic premise I came up with for “F-2” was a priest from the post apocalypse touches paintings and experiences strange, dark visions that lead him to his own end.
Image
I made a set for “Static” so I decided to make a set for “F-2.” I worked construction for years, so throwing up a fake wall made from two by fours and cheap siding was easy enough. I just had to make it weird looking. In art school I used a texture on my sculptures made from polyurethane, sand and plaster. I would just slather it on, wait for it to dry and then paint it. It was really cool looking rusted metal texture; perfect for making ply-wood look like rusty metal walls. Add a few strips of corrugated drainage tubing and you’ve got another world. I use the set for two sequences of the film; the gas mask dancers about midway through and then the sacrifice at the end.
Image
The editing took me forever for such a short film clocking in at just over six minutes. I remember the technology supervisor being kind of fed up with how much time I was taking up in the editing bay. After two weeks of work and many coffees and cigarettes I had the thing finished.

Link to “F-2”

I was pretty happy with this film and was more than ready to create my masters thesis that was to be “Cancer Dreams.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

